Which car history check do you need?
Do you need a paid check?
The free MOT history on GOV.UK lists whether each test was passed or failed, the parts that failed or had minor problems, and the mileage at each test. Outstanding finance, write-offs, theft and plate changes aren't on that list.
Citizens Advice says a private history check will tell you if the car has been reported stolen, if the seller still owes money on it and if it has been written off. The four checks below also list plate changes.
Do these free first
- See the V5C logbook and check the seller's name and address.
- Match the VIN on the V5C with the car.
- Read the car's MOT history. You can check it here for free.
- If the seller had finance, ask for the settlement letter.
When a paid check is worth it
Once the free checks look right and you're close to paying. Citizens Advice says it's a good idea to get one, and that it costs up to £20. We read the GOV.UK and Citizens Advice pages on 30 Oct 2026.
A history check reads records. It doesn't look at the car's condition.
What each paid check lists
Listed on the provider's siteNot stated: we couldn't find it there. The report may still include it.
RAC Vehicle History Check
£14.99Full Check
- Outstanding finance
- Write-off
- Stolen
- Plate changes
- Previous keepers
- Mileage check
- Import or export
- Scrapped
- Valuation
- MOT history
- Data guarantee
Also sells a basic check for £9.98. Its pages don't agree on what that one leaves out, so check before you buy it.
Its site says the data comes from HPI.
Source: check page and sample reports page. Checked 30 Oct 2026.
Go to RAC Vehicle History CheckHPI Check
£19.99Full HPI Check
- Outstanding finance
- Write-off
- Stolen
- Plate changes
- Previous keepers
- Mileage check
- Import or export
- Scrapped
- Valuation
- MOT history
- Data guarantee
Also sells a basic check for £9.99. Its site says that one leaves out the mileage check, write-off details and the data guarantee.
Source: check page and what's included. Checked 30 Oct 2026.
Go to HPI CheckExperian AutoCheck
£7.99AutoCheck
- Outstanding finance
- Write-off
- Stolen
- Plate changes
- Previous keepers
- Mileage check
- Import or export
- Scrapped
- Valuation: not stated
- MOT history
- Data guarantee
Source: check page, questions page and guide. Checked 30 Oct 2026.
Go to Experian AutoCheckAA Vehicle Check
£14.99Vehicle history check
- Outstanding finance
- Write-off
- Stolen
- Plate changes
- Previous keepers
- Mileage check
- Import or export
- Scrapped
- Valuation: not stated
- MOT history: not stated
- Data guarantee
Its site says the data comes from HPI.
Source: check page and sample report. Checked 30 Oct 2026.
Go to AA Vehicle Check
Each provider's data guarantee has its own terms and conditions. Read them before you rely on one.
How we chose and sorted
- We list four well-known names. HPI and Experian sell checks under their own names. The RAC and the AA say their checks use HPI data.
- The details of each check come from that provider's own website: its prices, what it says the check covers, and its sample report or questions page where it has one. We haven't bought or tested these reports.
- The order: first, how many of the four things the GOV.UK MOT history doesn't list (finance, write-offs, theft and plate changes) each check lists. Then how many of all 11 items above it lists. Then price, lowest first. Commission plays no part in the order.
- Prices change. If we haven't re-checked a price for 14 days, we stop showing it and point you to the provider's site.
- Other companies sell checks too, some for less. We kept this list short.
- This page is for guidance. Check the provider's current details before you buy.